Working with Orders

Top  Previous  Next

 
There are six command buttons in the upper right corner which handle creating new orders, copying them, saving, etc. Here is a rundown on what each does:
 

buttons

 
The New button creates a completely new order with all fields except the order date cleared. If you have unsaved changes in another order, you will be prompted to save them first.
 
The Copy button creates a new WO with all fields filled in just as they are. This is a big time saver if you regularly write similar orders, or need to write the same order for many different jobsites. Just create the first one (or select a previously saved order), and copy it!
 
The Wipe button has the same effect as New, except does not assign a new number.
 
Preview / Print displays the order as-is in the preview / print form.
 
The Save button saves all changes to the order you are working on, and also to the vendor and jobsite addresses (if changed or new).
 
The Help button displays this help file (same as pressing the F1 key).
 
 
Across the top of the screen are four "status" choice controls:
 

type_radios

 

RFP - the order will be shown as a "Request for Proposal", rather than as a Work Order. Everything else is the same, just a different title at the top.

 
Open - the order has been created, but the work is not done yet.
 
Complete - work is done.
 
The Archive checkbox is useful for tagging orders which have been processed and no longer need to be visible for normal operations. Save with this box checked and these items can be hidden from view on the main order list. They can always be brought back in view (for duplicating them, general look-up, etc.) simply by checking the "Archive" box above the order list.
 
Orders can be locked to prevent accidental changes from being made.
 
All orders that you save can be pulled up later for re-printing and/or copying. Click on the Show Orders bar (just below the Total field) to see the list. As mentioned above, you can select which items are listed here with the four check boxes, RFP, Open, Complete, and Archive.
 
Click the same bar (which now says "Show Instructions"), or double-click any order to return to normal display.
 

switch

 

Note that the saved orders list only contains orders that fall within a certain Date Range. This can be modified by selecting the menu item File, Date Range, and picking the earliest and latest dates on the calendars that pop up. Also, the  date range can be either the creation date or the date required - select the one you want under the File menu.